Written by the Web Team


With over 300 crop science researchers, members of the academe, development professionals, and students participating, PhilRice researchers won top awards during the 22nd Federation of Crop Science Societies of the Philippines (FCSSP) Conference in Cagayan de Oro, March 11-16.

PhilRice won three of the four best paper categories, three of the seven best poster categories, and two achievement awards.

Dr. Sailila Abdula and co-authors, a returned scholar from PhilRice Midsayap won best paper in the Upstream category for his work titled BrCIPK1 gene enhances multiple abiotic stress tolerance in rice.  The paper, which proved relevant in the highly unpredictable rice farming environments, was a part of Abdula’s PhD dissertation from Chungbuk National University in South Korea. Hye-Jung Lee, Ho jin Ryu and Yong-Gu Cho, all from Chungbuk National University were the co-authors.

In the downstream category, Dr. Manuel Jose Regalado, PhilRice’s deputy executive director for research, presented the paper on Optimizing water utilization from a windpump-drip irrigation system for high-value crop production. The paper highlighted the energy production capability of windmill, an alternative energy source for the rice farm. The other authors were Nguyen T. Nghi (primary author) and Helen P. Gavino.

Jaime Manalo IV, Katherine Balmeo, Oliver Domingo, and Fredierick Saludez won best paper for their paper titled What works in engaging young people in agriculture: The Infomediary Campaign in Aurora, Philippines. The paper was drawn from the Sagot ko ang magulang ko: Isang kampanya upang hikayatin ang mga kabataang maging infomediaries implemented from April 2012 to March 2013 in Maria Aurora, Aurora.

Alice Mataia and Resi Olivares won best poster for their work titled Impact assessment of the Location-specific Technology Development PalayCheck Field School.

Meanwhile, researchers from PhilRice Batac won two best poster awards. Engr. Noel D. Ganotisi and team were recognized for their poster Regulated deficit irrigation for rice-based crop production in water limiting areas.

Dr. Mary Ann Baradi and Arnold Elepaño won best poster for Diffusing mechanism of aroma compound (2-acetyl-1-pyroline) in rice during storage.

Ruben B. Miranda and Thelma F. Padolina were recognized by the Federation for their meritorious accomplishments in their respective fields.

FCSSP recognized Miranda’s dedication and accomplishments in the field of agricultural extension. Padolina was recognized for her work as plant breeder playing significant roles in varietal development and approval for commercialization.

FCSSP is composed of four organizations namely, the Crop Science Society of the Philippines, Philippine Association for Plant Tissue Culture and Biotechnology, Philippine Fruit Association, and Philippine Seed Industry Association.

In addition, Dr. Antonio Alfonso and group also won best poster (Plant Pathology Category) during the 44th Pest Management Council of the Philippines Scientific Conference held on March 5-8 in Puerto Princesa City.

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel - .
How does this post make you feel?
  • Excited
  • Fascinated
  • Amused
  • Bored
  • Sad
  • Angry
Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice) is a government corporate entity attached to the Department of Agriculture created through Executive Order 1061 on 5 November 1985 (as amended) to help develop high-yielding and cost-reducing technologies so farmers can produce enough rice for all Filipinos.

Learn More

Philippine Rice Research Institute